Photographers: There Are Only Three Basic Things Keeping You From Business Success

Don Giannatti
10 min readSep 9, 2024

This is not about photography per se, it is about the business of photography.

Everybody has the same challenges in this business. A few of us have something unique, but all of us share these three. You have a choice in how to deal with them. It is always your choice, and the results are always yours to have. Choose wisely, and blame no one. All photos by the author.

I love photography.

I have, since the first time I watched a print come up in a stained tray of Dektol.

A long time ago.

Eventually, I turned my fascination into a full-time job, and for over 50 years I made a good living at it.

Some years a great living.

Some years… meh… but I stuck with it.

Over the decades I shot fashion, beauty, product, still life, architecture, a bit of food, and a lot of what is called “lifestyle”. Sort of a grab-all for lots of stuff.

I had big clients like Motorola, JCPenney, Sears, Goldwaters, and a host of big manufacturing clients and brands.

I also had small businesses that became big.

I turned around one day and owned a tiny design agency in my bedroom, working for a nice list of ad clients.

In a blink, I was the Creative Director of my own ad agency, the third largest agency by billing in Arizona.

From sitting on one side of the hiring desk with my photography portfolio to the other side looking at photographer’s work and hiring them for large-budget gigs.

Photographer to Designer to Creative Director to Educator.

A wild ride, but one I would do again and again.

I have loved nearly every minute of the ride. And those bad times — well, they built character. And my wife says I’m quite the character, so I guess that worked out well.

But that brings me to here, where I am now.

Building a home in the desert, longing to spend summers in Wyoming, and writing every day or so on Medium and Substack.

My goal is to pass on what I know, what I have experienced, and what I see as solutions to the challenges of everyday professional photographers.

I created Project 52 which launched dozens of pro photographers into the world and helped hundreds more become better at their craft, and their art.

I have done dozens of one-on-one mentorships, and I currently have a mentorship group working with a couple of dozen photographers looking to up their game and stay focused.

Staying focused is the number one challenge that affects all of us, photographer or not.

The reason is the onslaught of tech companies who want our attention. They will do anything to get our attention and keep it.

And they are fucking good at it.

And there are many ways to get yourself off of that or at least to a manageable time spent. Once you can control that scrolling urge, you can do a lot more of the life stuff.

And life stuff is pretty cool stuff.

Through all of this, I have realized that there are only three basic things that hold photographers back. I will briefly explain them, and I realize they may make some folks mad. I will address why that is as well.

These are not in order of importance, and to be sure, any one of them can stifle or kill your business and the ability to make an income from photography.

This is the trifecta, and you must avoid these three things by taking action against them.

(Article reprinted from my Substack page. Link below.)

My wife is a ballerina. She spent thousands of hours at the barre perfecting the technique that would be on display for a matter of a few minutes for a performance. Dedication and commitment at the fore of her life. These were the last pair of toe-shoes she wore in a performance.

#1. Your portfolio sucks.

I don’t care how long you spent developing it. That has no bearing on the work.

I don’t care how many images you have. I’ve seen great portfolios with only a couple dozen shots — and they converted well.

I don’t care if it is what you love to do. If you are trying to get a career going, you have to understand that no one else cares either. They want to know what you can do for them.

What kind of camera, lights, gear, gizmos, and DIY stuff is only interesting to one group of people; other photographers.

Now, flash question: How many other photographers are going to hire you to do a shoot? Take your time, the answer is fairly easy.

In the entire 50+ years I made money with my cameras, no client EVER asked me what kind of camera I used. Not one. We talked format, like 8x10 or 35mm, but not brand or anything even remotely close.

If you are getting advice from someone who pitches cameras first, that is a red flag as big as a mountain. They are pitching bullshit. They are selling YOU stuff instead of showing you how to sell YOUR stuff.

How to audit your portfolio:

Get a portfolio review by at least three people who have the knowledge and credibility to review it:

Like an art director, a creative director, or a brand manager in your space. Try a photo editor, art buyer, or graphic designer who hires photographers.

These are the people who are the first-line gatekeepers, and they should shoot straight with you if you make it clear you want to hear the truth.

I know it’s hard to do. So what? If you can’t handle this little hardship, perhaps that 9–5 cubicle hell is exactly right for you.

If you want platitudes, see Facebook and Instagram. Those folks even love Ai Crappola, so their accolades should be worth a lot, right? Right?

Look at each image individually and ask yourself why someone else may find it interesting. Why did you make it? And if there was a reason other than “it kinda looked good”, did you hit the mark?

Pro tip: “It kinda looked good” may not be reason enough to show that unless you are showing a project or series of similar imagery. A ‘grab’ shot can work there, but if it is one of only two or three, they are anomalies… and your credibility takes a big hit.

Does your work LOOK like your work, or does it look like someone else’s work? Someone you are trying to emulate. Because you think they are cool and have a great look.

Well, they may be cool and have a great look, but the list of other conditions that can make that portfolio a strong sales tool is too great to mention. And more important than you think.

OK, one; Imagine you love Peter Lindbergh’s work. And you strive to have that same vibrance and intimacy he does, and your black-and-white shots of models that you know are spectacular. And you live in Topeka, KS.

Get it.

High fashion photography in Topeka. (Before you Topekans send me hate mail, I think there is clothing and possibly a bit of OTR work there, but fashion is really limited to the Burroughs around NYC.)

So no matter how good it is, there is no work for that type of photography, in Topeka, and it gets you absolutely no work. That means your portfolio stinks. For where you are and what you do.

At that point, it is a great hobby.

Sometimes we get to a place where we have to make a decision. Do we go left or right? Do we go up or down? We make those choices with the best information available to us, and then we press on knowing that the decision is ours and the destination will be what it is.

#2 Your Marketing Sucks

I know, I know, oh my god do I know; marketing sucks. Marketing is expensive. Marketing feels icky. I realize you tried it once it didn’t work. Yeah yeah, folks, I know.

I’ve heard every one of those lame stories more times than you can know.

And the answer from me is always the same: The market doesn’t give a shit how you think of marketing. No one does.

If you think they do, the next time you are with a bunch of friends, announce that marketing your work makes you feel icky. See if that is a great conversation starter.

This is a personal decision that you must make, commit to, and then execute.

Marketing is the lifeblood of your business.

Do it or don’t, but have the correct expectations for both paths.

If you have a marketing system, and you embrace that system, and your portfolio doesn’t suck, you will get work. Science proves it. It’s a numbers game. Always has been at some level.

If you do not market, no worries, nothing will happen to you. You will be safe. You will never be turned down, you will never not get a gig, you will never have to experience the life-threatening, and possibly lethal moment where your work is rejected.

Whew…. dodged a bullet there.

You’re alive, and that is all that matters.

You are also not a pro artist.

Be sure to tell your grandchildren that you “could’a been a contenda”, but you were terrified of making phone calls. They’ll be super impressed.

Blue Doors, Taos, NM. I love the simplicity of clay and adobe. I love the simplicity of a quiet life. The artisans and crafters in Taos work tirelessly on their art. And it shows.

#3 Your attitude sucks.

If you get all of your information about the business of photography from YouTube, Facebook, or Instagram, you are at a disadvantage already. You may think that photography is some sort of celebrity circus, or that being a photographer is all about making coffee, skateboarding, and reviewing cameras.

As a rule of thumb, the higher the viewership, the less important the content is.

Real advice isn’t popular.

Bullshit is popular.

Whether in culture, arts, or social media, the bullshit always outweighs the reality.

A Breakdown of Photographer Bullshit

You think that you are owed something because you bought a camera and learned to use “manual mode”. On the list of technical achievements, this sits slightly below how to program a VCR, but above learning to chew gum.

You think that the mere announcement that you are a professional nets you professional rates for your work. It doesn’t. Acting professionally, marketing like a professional, and showing a great portfolio are what make you ready to make real money. (And no, mini-sessions are not great money and I don’t even know what that is anyway.)

You think AI is going to take over the world of photography. Yes, I know we are bombarded with it, but there are lots of reasons why most of this is hype from the tech-bro scum, and isn’t based in reality. Remember, reality is not popular, bullshit is popular. Act accordingly.

You believe that the only thing you can do is photography. You better expand that toolkit, my friend. There is a lot more to visual arts — and make no mistake, that is EXACTLY what you are doing — than making a still image. Learn something new every day. EVERY day. The world is moving much faster than you think and you need to at least make an effort to keep up.

You have excuses at the ready;
a. The market sucks. (It always sucks, get used to it or get out.)
b. No one needs my kind of work here. (Move. It’s not a new concept.)
c. I can’t find models, talent, props, whatever. Yes, you can. Work harder.)
d. I don’t have the camera I want. (Unless you have a point-and-shoot from 2009, you most likely do. This is probably the worst excuse ever.)
e. You don’t have time. (BS.)
f. You’re too old. Or too young. (BS.)
g. You have no money. (Likely BS, probably more like bad allocation of resources.)
h. It’s just too damned hard. (OK, and I agree. It is very damned hard.) This is not something anyone can fix for you, so if it is indeed too hard, please do something else. There is no shame in moving on or changing direction. Lots of people do it. I have done it.)

And again, being good at two of these is not enough.

This is something you must focus on like a laser beam at a Taylor Swift concert.

Create a doc and do an audit. Where do you stand on these three pillars? And how can you get better at what you need to work on?

Stop social media brain poison as much as possible.

And never forget why you started making photographs.

For the joy, the freedom of expression, and the excitement of creating something all yours. And if you do that, the work will continue to shine.

I can help you with developing the best portfolio, marketing strategy, and attitude you can have.

I do it on Substack, I do it on Medium, and I do it on my website. I have a free course there on acquiring clients, as well as other free programs.

When you are ready, here is how I can help you succeed.

Group Mentorship: a small group of photographers who meet to show images, work on their portfolio, and build their businesses with help from a wonderful group. Lifetime membership for one fee.

One-on-one Mentorship: You and me — working together in an intense 6-month push to get you on the way to over $30K in additional revenue. The work we lay down will help you increase and scale your business for years ahead.

Thank you for supporting my work.

--

--

Don Giannatti

Designer. Photographer. Author. Entrepreneur: Loving life at 100MPH. I love designing, making photographs and writing.